Curriculum aims and values

Ballifield Primary School Curriculum Aims and Values

Mission Statement
At Ballifield Primary School we the staff, children, governors and parents are working together as a family to provide a high quality, inclusive education, giving children opportunities to develop their full potential within a safe, happy and stimulating environment.


Vision Statement
Ballifield Primary School aims to develop respectful, confident, life-long learners who have the skills necessary for success in an ever-changing world.


Core Values:

  • We aim high
  • We value diversity
  • We are respectful
  • We enjoy our learning
  • We have a voice
  • We are a healthy school

Our curriculum will promote a range of values including:

  • Respect
  • Empathy
  • Responsibility
  • Equality
  • Independence
  • Happiness
  • Resilience
  • Gratitude


Our New Curriculum – September 2019 onwards
Our new ‘Learning Means the World’ Dimensions curriculum will showcase the aims and values. All of our stakeholders were surveyed about what they believe are the most important factors for our pupils when planning our new curriculum.

We will continue to focus on Phonics, English, Arithmetic and Mathematics, as these over learning approaches to teaching basic skills are proven to successfully meet the needs of our pupils and ensure maximum progress.

We will continue to ensure every child receives 2 hours of PE every week and we continue to make sure every child is taught the RE syllabus (Sheffield SACRE) through discrete lessons.

Computing skills will be taught every half term and the skills will be applied in our new exciting themed Learning Challenges. Science skills will be taught at least termly through the Dimensions curriculum.

We are introducing a new Global Curriculum called ‘Learning means the World’ for all our other subjects. The curriculum is innovative, forward-thinking and highly relevant. Our pupils will be thoroughly engaged as they tackle challenging and inspiring topics and issues.

It has been written with world issues in mind and is centred around 4Cs:-

  • Communication
  • Conflict
  • Conservation
  • Culture

Pupils are organised across four Learning Pathways which each highlight four traits for effective learning at each stage. These are developed through a skills-based approach.

The Learning Pathways are: – 

Explorers (3-5 years)
Foundation Stage 1
Foundation Stage 2

Pathfinders (5-7 years)
Year 1
Year 2

Adventurers (7-9 years)
Year 3
Year 4

Navigators (9-11 years)
Year 5
Year 6

National Curriculum

From September 2014 a new National Curriculum was introduced for primary schools. The School has worked with a company called Dimensions to devise a curriculum, which is progressive in skills, meets the national requirements and meets the needs of the pupils who attend Ballifield Primary School.

The national changes affect all curriculum areas with children expected to reach higher standards in Maths and English. Below you can see the expectations for each year group.

The English Curriculum
The curriculum for English is knowledge-based; this means its focus is on knowing facts as well as developing skills and understanding. There is an increased emphasis on the technical aspects of language. English is set out year by year in Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2) and two-yearly in Key Stage 2 (Years 3 and 4 and Years 5 and 6). There is specific content to be covered in the areas of spelling and vocabulary, grammar and punctuation. These are set out for each year group across both key stages. Mastery of English skills, both in Reading and Writing, are a priority at Ballifield.

Phonics at Ballifield
Children will be taught to read using Phonics as the primary approach. We follow the Primary National Strategy principles and practice for ‘Letters and Sounds’ which is a phonics resource which aims to build children’s speaking and listening skills as well as to prepare them for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. It sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children starting in Foundation Stage 1, with the aim of them becoming fluent readers by the age of seven.

Year 1 pupils sit the National Phonics Screening check in June. Pupils are given the chance to sit the phonics screening check again in Year 2.

The Maths Curriculum
The main areas in the Mathematics curriculum are number, measurement, geometry, statistics, ratio and proportion and algebra. The way that the curriculum is organised varies across the primary age range – every year group has its own programme of study detailing what the children should be able to achieve in each area. The changes for number present a significant increase in the level of challenge. Problem solving occurs in all areas of the Mathematics curriculum. Mastery of Maths is a focus for the school. We are using the White Rose Hub to support us with our planning.

The Science Curriculum
The curriculum for Science puts a greater focus on acquiring scientific knowledge, and less emphasis on developing scientific skills and understanding. The scientific enquiry strand, now called working scientifically, is taught throughout each topic.

There have been significant changes in the curriculum for History. In KS1 children learn about the lives of significant people and will be expected to have a growing sense of historical understanding. In KS2 there is an emphasis on developing chronology with the children studying History up to 1066. In addition to this, schools include special studies which will extend their knowledge and understanding beyond 1066.

Previously children have studied ICT (Information and Communication Technology), now it is referred to as Computing. The emphasis in the Computing curriculum is on the children being able to use and understand programming, develop their digital literacy as well as their understanding of safe internet use. ICT will still be used across all subjects in order to enhance and develop the children’s learning.